Xtend Barre vs. Physique 57: Method Certification Showdown
Xtend Barre requires teaching experience and delivers a 36-hour intensive, while Physique 57 offers an 80-hour online certification for beginners.
Key Takeaways
- Prerequisites differ sharply: Xtend Barre requires one year of prior teaching experience plus 20 classes minimum, while Physique 57 welcomes beginners with only a soft recommendation for fitness or dance background.
- Training formats reflect different philosophies: Xtend delivers a 36-hour, five-day intensive with video submission, while Physique 57 offers an 80-hour, fully asynchronous online program launched in 2021.
- Methodological roots shape class style: Xtend Barre fuses Pilates principles with ballet vocabulary for a dance-forward workout, whereas Physique 57 preserves the Lotte Berk lineage through interval-based muscle exhaustion.
- Business models diverge on scale and prestige: Xtend operates 40-plus studio locations globally with franchise availability, while Physique 57 maintains a premium, NYC-centric brand position including a November 2025 residency at the Waldorf Astoria.
- CEU recognition matters for career flexibility: Physique 57 certification earns 1.9 NASM and 15 AFAA continuing education units, while Xtend focuses on completion-based credentialing without explicit CEU partnerships.
Who These Certifications Are Built For
Xtend Barre sets a clear barrier to entry: instructors must complete a minimum of 20 classes and bring one year of teaching experience, preferably in dance, Pilates, or another group exercise discipline. This prerequisite signals the program's intent to train instructors who already understand cueing, class management, and body mechanics rather than fitness newcomers exploring their first certification.
By contrast, Physique 57 positions its 2021-launched certification as accessible to aspiring instructors with no formal audition or video submission required for enrollment. The program documentation describes it as "perfect for anyone who loves barre and is looking to take their practice to the next level" and "an excellent path for anyone just starting to train," though the company still recommends a background in fitness, dance, or movement for best teaching outcomes.
Training Duration and Delivery
Xtend Barre delivers its curriculum in a 36-hour, five-day intensive format covering basic exercise repertoire, anatomy specifics, Pilates mat fundamentals, and class lesson plans. Upon completion, new teachers must submit a video of themselves teaching a 55-minute class to at least three people for final evaluation. The program costs $395 and combines online and in-person components.
Physique 57's 80-hour virtual certification, launched in 2021, runs entirely online on an asynchronous schedule. Students complete quizzes throughout the training modules to ensure comprehension, then submit a final Sculpt-level test-out class for personalized feedback from a Barre Certification Advisor. Pricing was not disclosed in public announcements, though the program is recognized by the National Academy of Sports Medicine and the Athletics and Fitness Association of America as an Approved Continuing Education Provider.
Methodological Foundations and Class Characteristics
Xtend Barre was developed by former professional dancer and Pilates instructor Andrea Rogers around 2006. The method roots itself in Pilates principles of concentration, control, stabilization, breath, flow, and precision, fusing them with dance vocabulary to produce what observers describe as a faster, more dance-forward class experience. The presence of ballet terminology like "sous sous" during workouts underscores the method's commitment to its dance heritage.
Physique 57, founded in 2006 by Jennifer Vaughan Maanavi and Tanya Becker, emerged from the founders' shared background in the original Lotte Berk Method. The studio was among the first barre-based boutique fitness concepts to open in New York City, and its signature 57-minute workout uses a proprietary system called Interval Overload. This approach works each muscle group to exhaustion in eight to ten minutes, alternating intense muscle work with stretching in a format credited with helping spark the modern boutique barre boom.
Business Models and Market Positioning
Xtend Barre launched in 2008 and has expanded to over 40 studio locations worldwide, with 26 total locations including 23 franchised units across 12 states. The brand has franchised internationally from London to Sydney and maintains a strong digital presence through videos.xtendbarre.com and availability on the BODi streaming platform. However, the March 2026 rebranding of the Wilson Boulevard location to Studio B under new owners Dana Wilson and Elaine Broughan indicates ongoing studio turnover within the franchise portfolio.
Physique 57 took a different trajectory. The company launched its franchise business in 2019, and by November 2025 had secured a residency at the newly renovated Guerlain Spa at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel on Park Avenue. This partnership of two New York City luxury brands delivers first-class wellness options to hotel guests and existing Physique 57 clients, reinforcing the studio's premium positioning. Physique 57 is notable as one of the only certification companies maintaining brick-and-mortar studios alongside its training program, which the company identifies as a unique asset for certification students.
Credential Value in the Broader Barre Landscape
Both certifications function as method-specific credentials that sit alongside foundation certifications in the career paths of barre instructors. According to industry guidance from the International Barre Barre Fitness Association, most career barre instructors hold both a foundation credential plus method-specific training. Foundation credentials like the IBBFA CBI cost $599 and provide cross-method fundamentals, while method-specific programs from Pure Barre, Bar Method, Barre3, Physique 57, Xtend Barre, and others teach proprietary choreography and brand standards.
The CEU recognition offered by Physique 57 (1.9 NASM CEUs and 15 AFAA CEUs) provides certified instructors with continuing education credits applicable to other fitness certifications, potentially increasing the program's value for instructors maintaining multiple credentials or planning career diversification beyond barre. Xtend Barre's certification documentation does not reference explicit CEU partnerships with major fitness organizations.
What This Means for Studio Operators
Editorial analysis, not reported fact:
Studio operators evaluating instructor candidates with these certifications should consider that the credentials signal different preparation paths. An Xtend-certified instructor brings proven teaching experience and has survived a multi-day intensive with video evaluation, suggesting readiness to manage live classes independently. A Physique 57-certified instructor may be newer to teaching but has completed 80 hours of structured online training with brand-specific choreography and interval programming knowledge.
For multi-method studios or those not affiliated with either franchise, both certifications demonstrate investment in professional development, though neither replaces foundation training in anatomy, injury prevention, and general barre pedagogy. Operators hiring for flagship or signature class formats may find Xtend's dance-forward vocabulary appeals to former dancers and Pilates enthusiasts, while Physique 57's interval structure and Lotte Berk heritage may resonate with clients seeking the intensity and prestige associated with New York boutique fitness culture.
The divergence in business models also matters for long-term planning. Xtend's global franchise footprint and BODi streaming presence suggest instructor demand will remain geographically distributed, while Physique 57's concentration in premium markets and luxury partnerships may create stronger instructor pipelines in high-income urban areas. Studios considering franchise affiliation with either brand should weigh Xtend's broader geographic reach against Physique 57's luxury positioning and recent expansion into hospitality wellness partnerships.
Sources & Further Reading
- NACAMS: Xtend Barre Instructor Overview, covering prerequisites and training structure
- Benzinga: Introducing the Physique 57 Barre Certification, 2021 program launch announcement
- AthletechNews: Physique 57 Barre Certification Explained, methodology and CEU details
- International Barre Barre Fitness Association: Types of Barre, foundation vs. method-specific credentials
- BODi: Everything Xtend Barre, history and global studio footprint
- Wikipedia: Physique 57, company history and Waldorf Astoria residency
Editorial coverage of publicly reported industry developments. Barre Diary has no commercial relationship with any companies named.